USS Wyoming Wins Omaha Trophy

Story Number: NNS160211-21Release Date: 2/11/2016 3:55:00 PM
A  A  A   Email this story to a friend   Print this story
By Lt. Lily Hinz, Submarine Group 10 Public Affairs

KINGS BAY, Ga. (NNS) -- Ohio-class ballistic-missile submarine USS Wyoming (SSBN 742) was announced as one of the 2015 Omaha Trophy winners by Adm. Cecil D. Haney, commander of U.S. Strategic Command (USSTRATCOM), Feb. 3.

The Omaha Trophy is given annually to strategic assets in global operations, submarine ballistic missile, intercontinental ballistic missile and strategic aircraft operations.

It is awarded to units that have demonstrated the highest standards of performance based upon formal evaluations, meritorious achievement, safety, and factors such as community involvement and humanitarian actions during the previous calendar year.

"We salute the members of these professional units for their outstanding contributions to 21st century strategic deterrence, and extend appreciation for their contributions and congratulations on their selection for this prestigious award," Haney said.

Haney also lauded the efforts of the other nominated units for their dedication to providing a safe, secure, effective and ready deterrent force.

"Each nominee is truly an outstanding representative of their task force, joint task force, or functional component," he said. "Their sustained professionalism, record of mission accomplishment and emphasis on effective warfighting readiness is remarkable."

"This award is a testament to the hard work, professionalism and dedication that is the norm for all these Sailors every day," said Cmdr. Kenneth Curtin, commanding officer of USS Wyoming's Gold Crew. "This is a 'ship' award which means that both the Gold and Blue Crews have performed with the highest level of strategic excellence over the past year and I would like to specifically recognize the Blue Crew who are out at sea right now providing the credible nuclear deterrent that this country relies upon.

"I also want to recognize the families of both crew's Sailors, because for every Sailor at sea there is a family back home, without whose support we could not accomplish our mission," Curtin continued. "It is my honor and privilege to server as commanding officer of these fine men and women who selflessly sacrifice so much for the good of so many."

The Omaha Trophy, which dates back to the U.S. Air Force's Strategic Air Command, was originally created by the Strategic Command Consultation (SCC) Committee in 1971. At the time, a single trophy was presented annually as a token of appreciation to the command's best wing.

Since then, the tradition has evolved to unit-level awards that recognize USSTRATCOM's premier intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM) wing, ballistic missile submarine, strategic bomber wing and global operations (space/cyberspace) unit. This year, a new category was added to include the combatant command's top strategic aircraft wing.

Those receiving awards represent organizations throughout USSTRATCOM that are critical to fulfilling the combatant command's primary mission: to detect, deter and prevent strategic attacks against the United States and its allies.

The 2015 Omaha Trophy recipient organizations are listed by category below:
- ICBM: 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom Air Force Base, Montana
- Ballistic Missile Submarine: USS Wyoming (SSBN 742), Naval Submarine Base Kings Bay
- Strategic Bomber: 2nd Bomb Wing, Barksdale Air Force Base, Louisiana
- Strategic Aircraft: 92nd Air Refueling Wing, Fairchild Air Force Base, Washington
- Global Operations: 460th Space Wing, Buckley Air Force Base, Colorado

"It's a great honor for USS Wyoming to be recognized in this way; a true testament to our Sailors' professionalism, dedication, and teamwork," said Missile Technician Master Chief Chris Perrault, Wyoming Gold's chief of the boat. "I am proud to be the chief of the boat of such an incredible crew."

The original Omaha Trophy was given by the citizens of Omaha, Nebraska, to Strategic Air Command in 1970, to be presented as an annual award to the top Air Force missile wing.

In 1992, following the activation of Strategic Command, the Strategic Command Consultation Committee, representing the citizens of Omaha, requested the award be given to the top ballistic missile unit as well as the top aircraft unit to help reflect the combined joint effort of the strategic deterrence mission.

Wyoming was commissioned in 1996 and is the fourth U.S. Navy ship to be named USS Wyoming.

For more news from Commander, Submarine Group 10, visit

Navy Social Media
Sign up for email updates To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please click on the envelope icon in the page header above or click Subscribe to Navy News Service .