Puget Sound Naval Shipyard and Intermediate Maintenance Facility honors 27 employees, Sailors at Wednesday ceremony

Story Number: NNS160407-10Release Date: 4/7/2016 3:55:00 PM
A  A  A   Email this story to a friend   Print this story
From PSNS & IMF Public Affairs Office

Bremerton, Wash. (NNS) -- The Puget Sound Naval Shipyard and Intermediate Maintenance Facility honored 27 employees and Sailors as the best in their respective categories at the annual Employee of the Year Ceremony at the Admiral Theater, April 6.

Employees, families, friends, and well-wishers packed the theater to see winners announced from among more than 200 employees and Sailors who were nominated for their performance during 2015.

PSNS & IMF Commander Capt. Howard Markle presented awards to winners in categories ranging from highly technical engineering functions to administrative professionals to the traditional shipyard trades.

The Command also recognized employee achievements in safety, vision and innovation, volunteer service and a special "Spirit of Compassion" group. In addition, the command honored a Sailor and junior Sailor of the Year from both the Intermediate Maintenance Facility in Bangor and the Command's Everett Detachment.

"This truly is a great honor and a privilege for me," said Markle during the ceremony. "Over the course of any given day, most of my time is spent on executing our very difficult mission. And all too often, we forget the most important part of our mission, and that's to recognize the efforts of the all people who do many amazing things each and every day. Ultimately these efforts lead to successfully executing our mission and pushing the ships back out to sea."

Honored were:

PSNS & IMF and Everett Detachment Sailor of the Year
HT1 (SW/EXW) Jeffrey A. Hanke

PSNS & IMF and IMF Junior Sailor of the Year
ND2 David A. Hilborn II

Intermediate Maintenance Facility Sailor of the Year
EM1 Dammeone E. Gray

Everett Detachment Junior Sailor of the Year
GSM2 (SW) Brandon D. Theesfeld

Commander's Excellence in Safety award, employee category
Benjamin A. Collier

Commander's Excellence in Safety award, Manager category
Brian Fazio

Administrative, Clerical and Support Services, GS-10 or equivalent and below
Elizabeth A. Soliday

Administrative and Support Services, GS-11 or equivalent and above
Laurina M. Hector

Administrative Managerial/Supervisory, (non-engineering, non-trade)
Brenda C. Lancaster

Engineering Managerial/Supervisory
Brandon V. Draper

Trades & Craft - Structural (non-supervisory), WG-06 and above)
Kevin A. Fischer

Trades & Craft - Mechanical (non-supervisory), WG-06 and above
Shane M. Olinger

Trades & Craft - Electrical (non-supervisory), WG-06 and above
Tracy S. Nelson

Trades & Craft - Service (non-supervisory), WG-06 and above
Bryon E. Brown

Trades & Craft - Structural (non-supervisory), WG-05 and below
Mathew S. Chance

Trades & Craft - Mechanical (non-supervisory), WG-05 and below
Johnathan T. Leon Guerrero

Trades & Craft - Electrical (non-supervisory), WG-05 and below
Mark D. Heyden

Trades & Craft - Service (non-supervisory), WG-05 and below
Jacky V. Tang

Trades Supervisor (foreman)
William E. Leasure

Managerial Supervisor - Trades/Project (2nd-level or above)
Benjamin S. Godsey

Engineering/Professional - Waterfront support (degreed or equivalent)
Thomas E. Stamey

Engineering/Professional - Planning/indirect support (degreed or equivalent)
Ronald E. Simmons

Daniel R. Hager

Technical/Professional (non-engineering, non-supervisory)
Jacob C. Styron

The Vision/Innovation Award
John F. Fahey

Outstanding Volunteer Services
Ira (Reuben) Farley

Spirit of Compassion
Kevin S. Albert

For more news from Puget Sound Naval Shipyard & Intermediate Maintenance Facility, visit http://www.navy.mil/local/PSNS/.

Navy Social Media
Sign up for email updates To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please click on the envelope icon in the page header above or click Subscribe to Navy News Service.