main story image for facebook sharing

Your Career

DOD Adjusts Imminent Danger Pay Areas

What You Need to Know

1. The following locations will no longer receive IDP, effective June 1, 2014:

- The nine land areas of East Timor, Haiti, Liberia, Oman, Rwanda, Tajikistan, United Arab Emirates, Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan
- The six land areas and airspace above Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, and Montenegro
- The four water areas of the Arabian Sea, Gulf of Aden, Gulf of Oman, and the Red Sea
- The water area and air space above the Persian Gulf

2. IDP will remain in effect for:

- Iraq
- Afghanistan
- Lebanon
- Jordan
- Pakistan
- Syria
- Yemen
- Egypt within the U.S. Central Command area of responsibility.

3. Periodic recertification of IDP ensures that imminent danger designations match the actual conditions of designated countries.

To view the official DOD press release, Click Here.