Navy Biography

Rear Admiral Alvin Holsey

Commander, Carrier Strike Group One

Rear Admiral Alvin Holsey

Rear Adm. Alvin Holsey is a native of Fort Valley, Georgia and was commissioned through the Naval Reserve Officers Training Corps (NROTC) program at Morehouse College in 1988, where he received a degree in Computer Science. He earned a Master of Science in Management from Troy State University in 1995 and attended the Joint Forces Staff College in 2010.

He served in a variety of training and operational squadrons including Helicopter Anti-Submarine Squadron Light (HSL) 36, Helicopter Training Squadron (HT) 8, Helicopter Anti-Submarine Squadron Light (HSL) 40, and Helicopter Anti-Submarine Squadron Light (HSL) 44.

His sea assignments included deployments aboard USS Jesse L. Brown (FF 1089), USS Nicholson (DD 982), USS Vreeland (FF 1068), USS Vella Gulf (CG 72), USS Gettysburg (CG 64), and USS Simpson (FFG 56). He commanded Helicopter Anti-Submarine Squadron Light (HSL) 37 and the amphibious assault ship USS Makin Island (LHD 8).

Assignments to shore and staff billets have included, flag aide to Commander Naval Air Force and the Deputy Chief of Naval Operations (Warfare Requirements and Programs N6/N7), operations officer on the Joint Chiefs of Staff, J-3, Joint Operations Directorate, European Command, deputy director PERS 43/Head Air Combat Placement Officer, Navy Personnel Command, force operations officer, N3 at Commander Naval Air Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet, and executive assistant to the Chief of Naval Operations.

Holsey became commander, Carrier Strike Group One, June 12, 2018.  He previously served as  deputy director for Operations, National Military Commanded Center, Joint Chiefs of Staff.

His military decorations include the Defense Superior Service Medal, Legion of Merit (three awards), Defense Meritorious Service Medal, Meritorious Service Medal (two awards), Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal (four awards),  Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal, and various unit, campaign and service awards. 

Updated: 26 June 2018