US Navy Fact File Logo

Amphibious Command Ships - LCC

Amphibious Command ships provide command and control for fleet commanders.
Commissioned in 1971, these are the only ships to be designed initially for an amphibious command ship role. Earlier amphibious command ships lacked sufficient speed to keep up with a 20-knot amphibious force. Subsequently, both ships became fleet flagships. USS Blue Ridge became the U.S. 7th Fleet command ship in 1979, and USS Mount Whitney became the U.S. 2nd Fleet command ship in 1981 and the U.S. 6th Fleet command ship in February 2005.

USS Blue Ridge and USS Mount Whitney's service lives were extended in 2011 by the chief of Naval Operations to 2039. An Extended Service Life Program (ESLP) is being executed jointly by Naval Sea Systems Command (NAVSEA) and Military Sealift Command. ESLP is focused on ensuring the platforms can support the full range of mission requirements for an embarked numbered fleet commander. The program provides for the repair and overhaul of systems/equipment, replacement of obsolete equipment and modernization of selected systems, spaces and equipment to be included in an extended service life program. Major areas of improvement will be shipboard electrical generation and distribution, HVAC upgrades, operational space optimization, habitability and safety modifications, and corrosion control.
Point Of Contact
Office of Corporate Communication (SEA 00D)
Naval Sea Systems Command
Washington, D.C. 20376
General Characteristics
USS Mount Whitney (LCC 20), Gaeta, Italy
USS Blue Ridge (LCC19), Yokosuka, Japan
General Characteristics, Blue Ridge Class
Builder: Philadelphia Naval Shipyard (LCC 19)
Newport News Shipbuilding and Drydock Co. (LCC 20).
Propulsion: Two boilers, one geared turbine, one shaft; 22,000 horsepower.
Length: 634 feet (190 meters).
Beam: 108 feet (32 meters).
Displacement: 18,874 tons (19,176.89 metric tons) full load.
Speed: 23 knots (26.5 miles, 42.4 km, per hour).
Crew: 34 officers, 564 enlisted.
Armament: - 2 MK 15 Block 1B Phalanx Close-in-Weapons Systems (CIWS)
Aircraft: All helicopters except the CH-53 Sea Stallion can be carried.
USS Mount Whitney (LCC 20), Gaeta, Italy
USS Blue Ridge (LCC19), Yokosuka, Japan
Last Update: 9 January 2017
Photo - The Sixth Fleet flagship USS Mount Whitney (LCC 20)