MCPON, VCNO Honor 2016 Sailors of the Year

Story Number: NNS170519-23Release Date: 5/19/2017 5:29:00 PM
A  A  A   Email this story to a friend   Print this story
By Mass Communication Specialist 2nd Class Huey D. Younger Jr., Office of the MCPON

WASHINGTON (NNS) -- The Navy's 2016 Sailors of the Year (SOY) were meritoriously advanced to chief petty officer during a ceremony, May 18, at the Navy Memorial.

Vice Chief of Naval Operations Adm. Bill Moran served as guest speaker during the pinning ceremony hosted by Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy (MCPON) Steven S. Giordano.

The four Sailors of the Year honored at the ceremony are: Naval Aircrewman (Tactical Helicopter) 1st Class Mark W. Brown II, of the U.S. Navy Reserve; Cryptologic Technician (Technical) 1st Class Courtney P. Evers, from U.S. Fleet Forces; Interior Communications Electrician 1st Class Brent T. Schermerhorn, from U.S. Pacific Fleet; and Logistics Specialist 1st Class Amber L. Wilson, from U.S. Navy Shore.

Before introducing Moran, Giordano congratulated the SOYs for their hard work and dedication that paved the way to their success and spoke about the effect of the chief petty officer.

"We require toughness and the steely grit to see missions accomplished," said Giordano. "As chief petty officers, we are confidently humble experts with a sacred obligation to develop the next generation of chiefs who are capable of leading Sailors, guiding and mentoring junior officers, and providing sound counsel to senior officers."

Giordano continued by saying that the rank of chief petty officer is not to be taken lightly and emphasized the importance of leaving a legacy."

"Be ever mindful that legacy is not based on what we wear on our collar or on our sleeve when we depart this great Navy," said Giordano. "But, knowing that the people we had the opportunity to serve alongside will be better than what we were."

Throughout their weeklong visit to Washington, the Sailors of the Year and their families toured historic sites and enjoyed special events held in their honor.

The Sailor of the Year program was established in 1972 by the Chief of Naval Operations Adm. Elmo Zumwalt and Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy John Whittet to recognize an individual Sailor who best represented the ever-growing group of dedicated professional Sailors at each command and ultimately the Navy.

When the program began, only the Atlantic and Pacific Fleet Sailors were recognized. Within 10 years, the Sailor of the Year program was expanded to include the shore establishment and Navy Reserve Sailors.

Sponsored by the CNO, the program provides recognition to the Navy's outstanding Sailors through numerous presentations, awards and meritorious advancement to the next pay grade.

For more news from Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy, visit

Navy Social Media
Sign up for email updates To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please click on the envelope icon in the page header above or click Subscribe to Navy News Service.