Navy is Accepting Nominations for Exceptional Leadership Awards

Story Number: NNS171208-17Release Date: 12/8/2017 4:06:00 PM
A  A  A   Email this story to a friend   Print this story
From Chief of Naval Personnel Public Affairs

WASHINGTON (NNS) -- The Navy's Office of Inclusion and Diversity is currently accepting nominations for the 2018 Captain Joy Bright Hancock and Master Chief Anna Der-Vartanian Leadership Awards.

Presented annually, the Captain Joy Bright Hancock and Master Chief Anna Der-Vartanian Leadership Awards recognize and honor the inspirational and visionary leadership of Navy Service Members whose ideals and dedication foster a positive working environment, while reinforcing and furthering the integration of women into the Navy.

According to NAVADMIN 285/17, nominations are broken into five categories: senior officer (O4 and senior); junior officer (O1-O3); Limited Duty officer and Warrant Officer (W2-O3E); senior enlisted (E7-E9); and junior enlisted (E5-E6).

One award winner will be chosen for each category. Nominees should be mature leaders who have shown exceptional leadership over the span of their career and have persevered to overcome challenges while serving. Nominees should have demonstrated inspirational, innovative, and imaginative leadership, both on and off-duty, as well as professional accomplishments and community involvement.

Candidates shall be nominated by their commanding officer (CO) or officer in charge (OIC). The nominating command's immediate superior in command (ISIC) shall provide an endorsement prior to nomination submission. If an ISIC receives multiple nominations, the ISIC shall endorse and forward only one nomination for each category. Nomination packages shall include the following:
A. ISIC endorsement,
B. CO or OIC endorsement, to include command point of contact's name, e-mail address and phone number,
C. Nomination write-up (shall not exceed two pages in length), and
D. Nominee's biography, to include current official military photo (shall not exceed one page in length).

Nominations are open to both active and Reserve Sailors and are not gender-restricted.

Applications deadline is Feb. 18, 2018.

To submit nomination packages for the Captain Joy Bright Hancock and Master Chief Anna Der-Vartanian Leadership awards, submit an encrypted e-mail to Lt. Cmdr. Charles Lux at

Award selections will be communicated to appropriate commands no later than April 4, 2018 and the awardees will be hosted and recognized at the annual Sea Service leadership Association's Joint Women's Leadership Symposium in June 2018.

For more information, visit

For more news from Chief of Naval Personnel, visit

Navy Social Media
Sign up for email updates To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please click on the envelope icon in the page header above or click Subscribe to Navy News Service.