USFF to Announce 2017 Sailors of Year

Story Number: NNS180307-07Release Date: 3/7/2018 12:41:00 PM
A  A  A   Email this story to a friend   Print this story
From U.S. Fleet Forces Public Affairs

NORFOLK (NNS) -- U.S. Fleet Forces Command (USFF) will announce selections for its 2017 Sea and Shore Sailors of the Year at the Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center, March 8.

Two Sailors, one representing sea commands and one representing shore commands, will be announced. The Sea Sailor chosen will be automatically advanced for chief petty officer, while the Shore Sailor will go to Washington D.C. to compete for the chief of naval operations-level Sailor of the Year.

The finalists consist of thirteen top-performing Sailors representing seven type commands (TYCOMS) across the fleet. The Sailors have spent this week in selection, training, team-building and social events.
Over the course of the week the candidates took part in board interviews, nomination package reviews, and leadership courses taking place at military installations across the Hampton Roads area. The SOY finalists also participated in tours of local historical landmarks, training at area commands and team-building exercises.

The Sailor of the Year program was established in 1972 by Chief of Naval Operations Adm. Elmo Zumwalt to recognize high-performing E-4 through E-6 Sailors across the fleet.

Finalists for Fleet Sea Sailor of the Year:
Naval Air Crewman Operator 1st Class John Herrman - Patrol Squadron (VP) 16
Cryptologic Technician Technical 1st Class Brandon B. Sneyd - Navy Information Operations Command San Diego
Electrionics Technician 1st Class Michael Kugler - Naval Special Warfare Development Group
Hospital Corpsman 1st Class Luis Figueroa - USS Detroit (LCS 7)
Intelligence Specialist 1st Class Michael Eaker - Commander, U.S. 6th Fleet, MCC TLAM Detachment
Logistics Specialist 1st Class Shaun P. Witt - Naval Mobile Construction Battalion (NMCB) 11
Machinist's Mate (Nuclear) 1st Class Marshall Evan Ross - USS La Jolla (SSBN 701)

Finalists for Fleet Shore Sailor of the Year:
Personnel Specialist 1st Class Nicole Florent - Navy Expeditionary Combat Command
Yeoman 1st Class David O'leary - Military Sealift Command Detachment Far East, Singapore
Interior Communications Electrician 1st Class Ronnie F. Byrd - Commander, Naval Surface Squadron (CNSS) 14
Aerographer's Mate 1st Class Pedro J. Henry - Commander, Naval Meteorology and Oceanography Professional Development Center
Aviation Electronic Technician 1st Class Shelldon L. Hunter - Commander, Fleet Readiness Centers, Patuxent River
Logistics Specialist 1st Class Samantha Mincey - Trident Refit Facility, Kings Bay
For more news from U.S. Fleet Forces, visit or

Media interested in covering the announcement of the 2017 U.S. Fleet Forces Sea and Shore Sailors of the Year should contact Mass Communication Specialist 1st Class Gary Prill at 757-836-0541 or Senior Chief Mass Communication Specialist Matthew Bash at 757-836-3626 by 4:30 p.m. March 7, 2018.

For more news from U.S. Fleet Forces Command, visit

Navy Social Media
Sign up for email updates To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please click on the envelope icon in the page header above or click Subscribe to Navy News Service.