Navy Announces Stockdale Award Recipients

Story Number: NNS190909-19Release Date: 9/9/2019 12:32:00 PM
A  A  A   Email this story to a friend   Print this story
From Chief of Naval Personnel Public Affairs

WASHINGTON (NNS) -- Navy announced Cmdr. Patrick O’Loughlin of U.S. Fleet Forces Command and Cmdr. Carl Trask of Pacific Fleet Command as recipients of the 2019 Vice Admiral James Bond Stockdale Leadership Award in NAVADMIN 208/19, Sept. 9.

O’Loughlin is commanding officer of USS Forrest Sherman (DDG 98) and Trask is the former commanding officer of USS Connecticut (SSN 22).

The award is named for Vice Adm. James Bond Stockdale, a Naval Academy graduate and pilot.  In September 1965, Stockdale ejected from his A-4E Skyhawk over North Vietnam and was captured.  While prisoner, Stockdale served as an inspiring leader to his fellow prisoners until his release in February 1973.  He received the Medal of Honor in 1976 and served as president of the Naval War College from October 1977 until August 1979.  Stockdale articulated five roles for a leader: moralist, jurist, teacher, steward and philosopher.

Today, the Stockdale Award recognizes those who demonstrate inspirational leadership both professionally and personally, and contribute to the improvement of leadership in the Navy.

Active duty Navy commanders and below who are serving in command of a single ship, submarine, aviation squadron, Sea, Air, Land (SEAL) team, naval special warfare squadron, SEAL delivery vehicle team, special boat team, explosive ordnance disposal mobile unit, mobile diving and salvage unit, or Navy special clearance team may be nominated by their peers.  Officers who wish to make a nomination must themselves be eligible for the award.

A selection board meets and selects two winners from a group of six finalists.  These finalists deserve special mention:

Pacific Fleet finalists:

Cmdr. Sean P. Lewis, Commanding Officer, USS Sterett (DDG 104)

Cmdr. Corey Poorman, Commanding Officer, USS Pasadena (SSN 752)

Cmdr. Steven J. Shauberger, Commanding Officer of Electronic Attack Squadron 135 (VAQ-135)

U.S. Fleet Forces finalist:

Cmdr. Troy Tartaglia, Commanding Officer, Patrol Squadron 16 (VP-16)

O’Loughlin and Trask will be honored in a ceremony in the Pentagon tentatively scheduled for this November.

For more news from Chief of Naval Personnel, follow us on Facebook at, Twitter at, Instagram @USNPeople or visit

Get more information about the Navy from US Navy facebook or twitter.

For more news from Chief of Naval Personnel, visit

Chief of Naval Operations (CNO) Adm. John Richardson presents the winners of the 2017 Vice Admiral James Bond Stockdale Leadership Award.
171103-N-AT895-103 ARLINGTON, Va. (Nov. 3, 2017) Chief of Naval Operations (CNO) Adm. John Richardson presents the winners of the 2017 Vice Admiral James Bond Stockdale Leadership Award. This year's winners are for the Pacific Fleet, Cmdr. Brian Drechsler, former commanding officer of SEAL Team Five, and for the Atlantic Fleet, Cmdr. Eric Sager, former commanding officer of USS California (SSN 781). (U.S. Navy photo by Mass Communication Specialist 1st Class Nathan Laird)
November 3, 2017
Navy Social Media
Sign up for email updates To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please click on the envelope icon in the page header above or click Subscribe to Navy News Service.