Submarine Force Announces Battle "E" Winners

Story Number: NNS080103-01Release Date: 1/3/2008 6:56:00 AM
A  A  A   Email this story to a friend   Print this story
By Chief Mass Communication Specialist (SW/AW) Dean Lohmeyer, Commander, Submarine Force Public Affairs

NORFOLK (NNS) -- Commander Submarine Force, and Commander Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet, announced the winners of the Battle Efficiency competition within the submarine force Jan. 1 in separate messages to the submarine fleet.

The prestigious Battle "E" is awarded annually to ships demonstrating a maximum condition of readiness for their class, and for their capability to perform wartime responsibilities.

The Battle "E" awards for the submarine fleet are presented by the commodore of each submarine squadron to the submarine under their command which has demonstrated the highest level of battle readiness during the previous year.

The winners are:

Commander, Submarine Squadron (SUBRON) 1 (Pearl Harbor) - USS Los Angeles (SSN 688);

SUBRON 2 (Groton, Conn.) - USS Philadelphia (SSN 690);

SUBRON 3 (Pearl Harbor) - USS Key West (SSN 722);

SUBRON 4 (New London) - USS Miami (SSN 755);

Commander, Submarine Development Squadron 5 (Bangor, Wash.) - USS Jimmy Carter (SSN 23);

SUBRON 6 (Norfolk) - USS Scranton (SSN 756);

SUBRON 7 (Pearl Harbor) - USS Cheyenne (SSN 773);

SUBRON 8 (Norfolk) - USS Boise (SSN 764);

SUBRON 11 (San Diego) - USS Topeka (SSN 754);

SUBDEVRON 12 (Groton) - USS San Juan (SSN 751);

SUBRON 15 (Guam) - USS Houston (SSN 713);

SUBRON 16 (Kings Bay, Ga.) - USS Florida (Blue and Gold) (SSGN 728);

SUBRON 17 (Bangor, Wash.) - USS Louisiana (Blue and Gold) (SSBN 743);

SUBRON 19 (Bangor) - USS Maine (Blue and Gold) (SSBN 741); and

SUBRON 20 (Kings Bay) - USS Rhode Island (Blue and Gold) (SSBN 740).

The winners in submarine force special categories are: the torpedo retriever Porpoise (TWR 823), homeported in San Diego; the floating dry dock Arco (ARDM 5), homeported in San Diego; the deep submergence research and ocean engineering submarine NR-1, homeported in Groton; the submarine tender USS Frank Cable (AS 40), homeported in Guam; and the submarine tender USS Emory S. Land (AS 39), homeported in Bangor.

In his message to the Pacific Fleet submarines, Commander, Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet, Rear Adm. Joe Walsh praised every winning crew for the hard work and dedication needed to win the Battle "E".

"Each crew member of an award winner can be justifiably proud of their contribution to improve Pacific Submarine Force readiness," said Walsh.

Those comments were echoed by Commander, Submarine Force, Vice Adm. Jay Donnelly in his message to the Atlantic Fleet Submarine Force commands.

"The competition for these honors was, as always, extremely keen," said Donnelly. "These awards should be a source of great pride to each and every crew member."

For more news from Commander, Submarine Force, visit

Headlines From Around The Fleet: President George Bush Authorizes A Three Percent Pay Raise For Military Members; Secretary Of The Navy Donald Winter Discusses The Great White Fleet; The Navy Announces The 2007 Battle Efficiency Award Submarine Force Winners.
January 2, 2008   |   0 Views
Navy Social Media
Sign up for email updates To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please click on the envelope icon in the page header above or click Subscribe to Navy News Service.