SECNAV Announces Outstanding Food Service Winners

Story Number: NNS100219-11Release Date: 2/19/2010 3:47:00 PM
A  A  A   Email this story to a friend   Print this story
From Naval Supply Systems Command Corporate Communications

MECHANICSBURG, Pa. (NNS) -- Secretary of the Navy Ray Mabus announced the 2010 winners of the Navy Captain Edward F. Ney Memorial Awards for outstanding food service Feb. 19.

"My personal congratulations to the following outstanding food service teams that represent the Navy's warfare enterprises," said Mabus.

Congratulations to the following outstanding food service teams that represent the Navy's warfare enterprises.

Submarine category:
First place: USS Providence (SSN 719) (Repeat Winner)
Runner-up: USS Wyoming (SSBN 742) (BLUE)
Honorable mention: USS Ohio (SSGN 726) (BLUE)

Small afloat category:
First place: USS Vandergrift (FFG 48)
Runner-up: USS Doyle (FFG 39)

Medium afloat category:
First place: USS Tortuga (LSD 46)
Runner-up: USS The Sullivans (DDG 68)
Honorable mention: USS James E. Williams (DDG 95)

Large afloat category:
First place: USS Blue Ridge (LCC 19)
Runner-up: USS Wasp (LHD 1)

Aircraft carrier category:
First place: USS John C. Stennis (CVN 74)
Runner up: USS Harry S. Truman (CVN 75)

Ney ashore mess winners are:

Continental U.S. General Mess category:
First place: Naval Air Station Pensacola
Runner-up: Naval Station Norfolk

Overseas General Mess category:
First place: Naval Air Station Sigonella, Sicily
Runner-up: Commander Fleet Activities Yokosuka, Japan

"It is with much honor and pleasure to congratulate the 2010 Captain Edward F. Ney Memorial Award winners, runner-ups and honorable mention commands," said Roxanne Hauman, Ney Program Manager. "They have worked very hard during the 2010 Ney competition and deserve special recognition. The Ney Award is a Quality of Life Program as it affects the health, morale and retention of all the Navy Sailors. The annual Ney food service awards foster excellence in food service across the Navy Enterprise while improving the quality of life for our Navy personnel."

First-place winners, runners-up and honorable mention commands will be recognized in a special ceremony during the Joint Military and International Food Service Executives Association (IFSEA) conference April 17 in Reno, Nev. Rear Adm. Mike Lyden, commander, Naval Supply Systems Command, will present the awards. This year marks the 52nd anniversary of this program.

The Ney Memorial Awards Program is co-sponsored by the secretary of the Navy and IFSEA. IFSEA is a nonprofit food service association dedicated to enhancing the professional image and growth of persons serving the food service industry. The awards encourage excellence in Navy food service programs, with the objective of improving the quality of life for our Navy personnel.

Naval Supply Systems Command's (NAVSUP) primary mission is to provide U.S. naval forces with quality supplies and services. With headquarters in Mechanicsburg, Pa., and employing a diverse, worldwide workforce of more than 22,500 military and civilian personnel, NAVSUP oversees logistics programs in the areas of supply operations, conventional ordnance, contracting, resale, fuel, transportation, and security assistance. In addition, NAVSUP is responsible for quality of life issues for our naval forces, including food service, postal services, Navy Exchanges, and movement of household goods.

For more news from Naval Supply Systems Command, visit

Navy Social Media
Sign up for email updates To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please click on the envelope icon in the page header above or click Subscribe to Navy News Service.