USS Constitution Chapter of SNA Announces Winner of 2012 George Sirian Award

Story Number: NNS120825-02Release Date: 8/25/2012 6:52:00 AM
A  A  A   Email this story to a friend   Print this story
By Mass Communication Specialist 2nd Class (SW/AW) Rosalie Garcia

San Diego (NNS) -- The USS Constitution Chapter of the Surface Navy Association (SNA) named Senior Chief Boatswain's Mate John Beekman the 2012 George Sirian Meritorious Service Award winner, June 15.

The Savannah, Ga., native is currently assigned to the San Diego-based, guided missile destroyer USS John Paul Jones (DDG 53).

"Beekman was always one of those Sailors I could count on to do the right thing and set the standard on the deck plates. He made me a better officer, my ship a better ship, and he supported me unconditionally as commanding officer," said Deputy Commodore, Commander, Destroyer Squadron ONE Capt. Michael Elliott. "I am extremely proud of his accomplishment and it does not surprise me in any capacity. I trusted BM1 Beekman to drive my ship, and he clearly has continued to set the standard within the fleet as a chief petty officer."

The chapter will formally presented the award, Aug. 24 in Boston aboard USS Constitution during Chief Petty Officer Leadership Week.

Each year, the award is presented to a chief petty officer in the Navy who exemplifies surface warfare excellence. The award is named in honor of George Sirian, whose distinctive naval career encompasses nearly 50 years. He started as a seaman, advanced through the ranks to master gunner, and was ultimately commissioned as a warrant officer. His service included multiple tours aboard USS Constitution during the ship's prime years as a ship of the line in the first half of the 19th century.

In addition to recognition as this year's George Sirian winner, Beekman will be presented with an engraved replica of a 19th century cutlass and a citation from the chapter, which will be presented to him aboard "Old Ironsides" during the ceremony.

"We are very excited to reflect the proud heritage and spirit of the early years of our Navy with the George Sirian Award, and to present this annual award to an outstanding Chief Petty Officer," said Capt. James Alosi (retired), president of the Constitution Chapter of the SNA.

The USS Constitution Chapter of SNA was established in 1990 and focuses on promoting and maintaining the values of the surface navy's history, contributions and accomplishments, with special focus on USS Constitution. The chapter's other award programs include the annual leadership award for a USS Constitution crewmember, and academic excellence awards for the ROTC programs at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Boston University, and Harvard University.

For more news from Commander, Naval Surface Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet, visit or follow the Surface Force at; and on Twitter, @surfacewarriors.

For more news from Naval Surface Forces, visit

Navy Social Media
Sign up for email updates To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please click on the envelope icon in the page header above or click Subscribe to Navy News Service.