Mid-South Welcomes Newest Chief Petty Officers

Story Number: NNS120917-14Release Date: 9/17/2012 3:45:00 PM
A  A  A   Email this story to a friend   Print this story
From Navy Personnel Command Public Affairs

MILLINGTON, Tenn. (NNS) -- Thirty-eight active duty and Reserve Mid-South Sailors donned Chief Petty Officer anchors surrounded by shipmates, family and friends during a pinning ceremony, in Millington, Tenn., Sept. 14.

"This is just the beginning for those selected; starting a new journey in their military career," said Navy Personnel Command (NPC) Force Master Chief (AW/SW/NAC) Jon Port, a guest speaker at the ceremony. "Much more will be expected of these Sailors as they step into a role of greater responsibility."

The pinning ceremony was the culmination of a rigorous induction season which began with the release of selection board results in August. The newly selected chiefs learned the customs and traditions of the mess and how through the mess anything is possible.

"I learned to never give up," said Chief Personnel Specialist (SW/AW) Likisa Jones, NPC. "You can accomplish anything as long as you put your mind to it and trust in the chiefs' mess."

Family members and friends pinned gold anchors to each newly appointed chief's uniform and the Sailors' sponsors placed a combination cover on their head during an emotional ceremony signifying a remarkable milestone in their career.

The ceremony concluded with more than 500 chiefs joining together to sing "Anchors Aweigh," a time honored Navy-themed song, to close the ceremony and welcome the newest members to the chief's mess.

The Mid-South's newest chief petty officers are:

SHC(SW) Rick Abuan
BMC(SW/AW) Clyde Adams
PSC(SW/AW) Stephanie Awere
PSC(SW/AW) Sherita Boykin
FCC(SW/AW) Ronald Carlin
EAC(SCW) Lole Chamberlin
YNC Christy Farris
AZC(AW) Marcus Foster
PSC(EXW/AW) Lamont Goode
LSC(SW) Sheryl Gutierrez
PSC(SW/AW) Randall Hamm
ITC(IDW/SW/AW) Jamesha Henderson
FCC(SW) Charles Hingle
MUC Erin Horn
HMC Andrea Huffaker
PSC(SW/AW) Lakisa Jones
LSC John Keagy
BMC(SW/SCW) David King
NCC(SW/AW) Christopher Kinstle
HMC(FMF/SW) Jonathan Kitchen
PSC(SW/AW) Boom Koroma
MMC(SW) Branden Langford
EMC(SS) Nickolas Leftheris
MAC Evette McDowald
LSC(SW/AW) Khilashwar Narine
QMC(SW/AW) Samir Patel
MAC(SW) Jose Ramirez
MRC(SW) Michael Renda
YNC(SW/AW) Erika Rice
FCC(SW) Manuel Rivera
PSC(SW/AW) Janet Rodriguez
ETC(SW) Carl Rubel
ETC(SW/EXW) Michael Shaw
ATC(AW/SW/EXW)Adam Smiley
PSC(EXW)Ryan Smith
HMC(FMF)Cassandra Smythe
FCC(IDW/SW)Michael Zdunkawicz
YNC(SW/EXW) James Ziegler

For more information, visit www.navy.mil, www.facebook.com/usnavy, or www.twitter.com/usnavy.

For more news from Navy Personnel Command, visit www.navy.mil/local/npc/.

Chief Information Systems Technician Katrina Williams is presented her chief petty officer combination cover during a pinning ceremony.
120914-N-ZQ794-008 JOINT BASE LITTLE CREEK-FORT STORY, Va. (Sept. 14, 2012) Chief Information Systems Technician Katrina Williams, assigned to Coastal Riverine Force (CORIVFOR), is presented her chief petty officer combination cover during a pinning ceremony. (U.S. Navy photo by Mass Communication Specialist 3rd Class Kay Savarese)
September 17, 2012
Navy Social Media
Sign up for email updates To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please click on the envelope icon in the page header above or click Subscribe to Navy News Service.