FMS - 7 Things Sailors Should Know

Story Number: NNS140925-16Release Date: 9/25/2014 1:53:00 PM
A  A  A   Email this story to a friend   Print this story
From Chief of Naval Personnel

WASHINGTON (NNS) -- This spring, based on Fleet feedback, Navy revised the Final Multiple Score (FMS), the weighted formula used to select Sailors for advancement.

The new formula rewards sustained superior performance and increases the role of the command triad in the advancement of Sailors, officials said, Sept. 25.

Changes to the formulation were made to achieve the right balance between technical skill proficiency, as measured by the test, and on the job performance as gauged by chain of command input through the evaluation process. It also places less emphasis on longevity-based elements.

This fall's petty officer advancement results will be the first use of the new formula.

Here are seven things Sailors should know about FMS:

1. FMS is a weight-based calculation used to rank Sailors eligible for advancement.

2. The advancement examination is the largest factor considered for advancement to E4 and E5, increasing in weight by eight percentage points, going from 37 percent to 45 percent.

3. For E6 and E7, Performance Mark Average (PMA) becomes the largest factor in determining Sailors' FMS. For advancement to E6, PMA increased three percentage points and now counts for 50 percent of the FMS calculation. For advancement to E7, PMA increased 10 percentage points to count for 60 percent of the total FMS.

4. Sailors who pass the advancement exam, but do not advance due to quota limitations, are eligible to receive Pass Not Advanced (PNA) points; however, the new policy limits PNA points to the top 25 percent of Sailors - 1.5 PNA points go to the top 25 percent of Sailors by test score, and 1.5 go to the top 25 percent by Performance Mark Average. However, for the next five test exams, those who have PNA points will have those points carried over.

5. Total PNA points in the FMS are determined from a Sailor's last five advancement cycles for a maximum of 15 possible points.

6. Service in Pay Grade has been reduced from seven percent to a weight of one percent of FMS for advancement to E4 through E6.

7. The Good Conduct Medal and the Reserve Meritorious Service Medal will no longer contribute award points in the FMS.

For more news from Chief of Naval Personnel, visit

Sailors take the Navy-wide petty officer 3rd class advancement exam on the mess decks aboard aircraft carrier USS Carl Vinson (CVN 70).
140918-N-HD510-080 PACIFIC OCEAN (Sept. 18, 2014) Sailors take the Navy-wide petty officer 3rd class advancement exam on the mess decks aboard aircraft carrier USS Carl Vinson (CVN 70). Carl Vinson and its embarked air wing, Carrier Air Wing (CVW) 17, are on deployment in the U.S. 7th Fleet area of responsibility supporting Valiant Shield. Valiant Shield is a U.S.-only biennial exercise in which participation will focus on the integration of joint training among U.S. forces. (U.S. Navy photo by Mass Communication Specialist 2nd Class Scott Fenaroli)
September 24, 2014
Navy Social Media
Sign up for email updates To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please click on the envelope icon in the page header above or click Subscribe to Navy News Service.