SURFPAC Welcomes 2014 Sailor of the Year Finalists

Story Number: NNS150224-05Release Date: 2/24/2015 8:42:00 AM
A  A  A   Email this story to a friend   Print this story
By Mass Communication Specialist 1st Class (SW/AW) Rosalie Chang, SURFPAC Public Affairs

CORONADO, Calif. (NNS) -- The staff of Naval Surface Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet (SURFPAC) welcomed eight Sailors and their spouses for the annual Sea and Shore Sailor of the Year (SOY) Week in San Diego, Feb. 22-27.

Each year, the SURFPAC SOY Program recognizes Sailors who best represent the large number of superior and dedicated professionals within SURFPAC squadrons and shore commands. The week of events honors each finalist for their contributions while evaluating their military bearing, professional performance and leadership skills.

"One of the great things about SOY Week is the chance to learn about who the Sailors are," said SURFPAC Force Master Chief (SW/IDW) Jason Wallis. "It gives me the chance to offer my leadership advice and mentor them as well as the opportunity to learn something new from their experiences.

Wallis said one of the most important aspects of the week is the chance for the SOY finalists to learn from one another and their experiences.

"These Sailors represent the best of the best and it is important to recognize them for their accomplishments," said Wallis. "I am truly humbled and inspired by the Sailors this year because they are by far better educated and more well-rounded than when I was a first class petty officer."

The Sailors will participate in board interviews, command events and community outreach activities, including visiting with Pearl Harbor survivors, the USS Midway Museum, and the San Diego Zoo. They will also attend a variety of personal and professional development sessions at SURFPAC headquarters.

The week will conclude with a banquet at the Admiral Kidd Catering and Conference Center in San Diego, Feb. 27, as SURFPAC announces the sea and shore Sailors of the Year as well as recognizing the Senior Sailor of the Year for the SURFPAC commands.

The 2014 sea finalists are: Aviation Boatswain's Mate (Handling) 1st Class (AW/SW) David C. Dysart, USS Makin Island (LHD 8); Fire Controlman 1st Class(SW) Eric C. Larson, USS John C. McCain (DDG 56); Information Systems Technician 1st Class (SW/IDW/AW) Angel B. Robinson, USS Mobile Bay (CG 53); and Hospital Corpsman 1st Class (SW/AW) Patrick D. Satterfield, USS Gladiator (MCM 11).

The 2014 shore finalists are: Yeoman 1st Class (SW/AW) Brandy D. Brossard, Naval Surface Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet; Mineman 1st Class (SW) Alnesugi Rivera Febres, Littoral Combat Ship Squadron One; Aviation Boatswain's Mate (Fuel) 1st Class (AW/SW) Joseph C. Matthews, USS America (LHA 6); and Fire Controlman 1st Class (SW) Christopher R. Pickartz, Afloat Training Group, San Diego.

The Sailor of the Year program was established in 1972 by Chief of Naval Operations, Adm. Elmo Zumwalt and Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy John Whittet to recognize an individual who best represented each command and ultimately the entire Navy.

For more news from Commander, Naval Surface Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet, visit or follow the Surface Force at; and on Twitter @surfacewarriors

For more news from Naval Surface Forces, visit

Navy Social Media
Sign up for email updates To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please click on the envelope icon in the page header above or click Subscribe to Navy News Service.