Outstanding Galley Winners Named

Story Number: NNS170216-10Release Date: 2/16/2017 11:36:00 AM
A  A  A   Email this story to a friend   Print this story
By Debbie Dortch, Naval Supply Systems Command Corporate Communications

MECHANICSBURG, Pa. (NNS) -- Acting Secretary of the Navy the Honorable Sean J. Stackley announced the 2017 winners of the Navy Captain Edward F. Ney Memorial Awards for outstanding food service Feb. 14.

The annual awards encourage excellence in Navy Food Service programs, with the objective of improving the quality of life for Navy personnel.

"While these awards are presented to the most outstanding galleys, I commend all our galleys and culinary specialists (CSs) for providing more than 80 million wholesome and nutritious meals every year, ensuring the Navy's fighting forces operate at peak performance and are ready to respond to threats worldwide," said Commander, Naval Supply Systems Command and Chief of Supply Corps Rear Adm. Jonathan Yuen. "I am especially proud of the work our food service teams and CSs have done this past year to implement the Department of Defense Go for Green program, which makes it easier for Sailors to choose healthy foods more often."

"Congratulations to the 2017 Captain Edward F. Ney Award winners," said Navy Food Service Director at NAVSUP Cmdr. Keith Capper. "It gets more and more difficult each year to pick the best galleys because so many exceed the standards of excellence we expect from our CSs. It's a tough competition. There are more than 300 messes in the U.S. Navy. Making it to the finals in Ney Award selections is a huge accomplishment."

"The one thing that really sets apart the winning teams is the camaraderie that bonds them; they really support each other and push each other to be the best of the best," said NAVSUP's Captain Edward F. Ney Awards Program Coordinator Cheryl Hernandez. "It means the CSs in the galleys have worked tirelessly in assuring all details of food preparation were addressed, and they represent the Navy with utmost precision and efficiency."

The 2017 Captain Edward F. Ney afloat winners, representing the Navy's Undersea Enterprise, Surface Warfare Enterprise and Naval Aviation Enterprise are:

(1) Submarine Category Winner: USS Missouri (SSN 780)
(2) Small-Medium Afloat Category Winner: USS Ashland (LSD 48)
(3) Large Afloat Category Winner: USS America (LHA 6)
(4) Aircraft Carrier Category Winner: USS Ronald Reagan (CVN 76)

The 2017 Captain Edward F. Ney Ashore General Messes winners representing Commander, Navy Installations Command are:

(1) Large General Mess Category Winner: Naval Base San Diego
(2) Small General Mess Category Winner: Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek-Fort Story

The Captain Edward F. Ney Memorial Award was established in 1958, and was named in honor of Capt. Edward F. Ney, Supply Corps, United States Navy, head of the subsistence division of the Bureau of Supplies and Accounts 1940-1945, supervising the procurement of food for the United States Navy during World War II.

NAVSUP's mission is to provide supplies, services, and quality-of-life support to the Navy and joint warfighter. With headquarters in Mechanicsburg and employing a diverse, worldwide workforce of more than 22,500 military and civilian personnel, NAVSUP oversees logistics programs in the areas of supply operations, conventional ordnance, contracting, resale, fuel, transportation, and security assistance. In addition, NAVSUP is responsible for food service, postal services, Navy Exchanges, and movement of household goods.

For more information, visit https://www.navy.mil, http://www.facebook.com/usnavy, or http://www.twitter.com/usnavy.

For more news from Naval Supply Systems Command, visit http://www.navy.mil/local/navsup/.

Navy Social Media
Sign up for email updates To sign up for updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please click on the envelope icon in the page header above or click Subscribe to Navy News Service.