An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Start & End Date

VAQ-130 Holds Change of Command Ceremony

13 December 2021

From NAS Whidbey Island Public Affairs

NAS WHIDBEY ISLAND, Washington - Cmdr. Matthew Voss relieved Cmdr. Benjamin Cooper as commanding officer of the “Zappers” of Electronic Attack Squadron (VAQ) 130 during a change of command ceremony on Naval Air Station Whidbey Island on December 21.

Cooper took command of the “Zappers” in October, 2020, and led them through a deployment in the 5th and 6th fleet areas of responsibility. While on deployment, the “Zappers” supported Operation Inherent Resolve, Freedom’s Sentinel, and the Afghanistan Retrograde. 

Reflecting on his time at VAQ-130, Cooper said “The fight-to-win mentality of this team was truly inspiring, and I consider it the honor of a lifetime to have led the “Zappers” in such challenging times.”

Cooper was relieved by Voss, a native of Jacksonville, Florida. Voss most recently served as a joint plans and action officer with 1st Air Force (AFNORTH) at Tyndall Air Force Base, Fla.  Following his first fleet tour with VAQ-138, Voss graduated from the Electronic Attack Weapons School and reported to the Naval Strike and Air Warfare Center as an instructor.  Thereafter, he was selected to be a “plank owner” in the establishment of the AEA Weapon School and served in the initial cadre of instructors.  He then returned to the fleet as the training officer at VAQ-141 and completed his department head tour at VAQ-142.

“It was an honor serving as skipper Cooper’s executive officer,” said Voss. “I am excited to lead the ‘Zappers’ into the New Year.”

The “Zappers” also welcomed their new executive officer, Cmdr. Carl Ellsworth Jr.  

VAQ-130 is part of Carrier Strike Group (CSG) 2, which is comprised of the aircraft carrier USS Dwight D. Eisenhower (CVN 69), and Carrier Air Wing (CVW) 3.  CSG-2 also includes Destroyer Squadron (DESRON) 22 and accompanying guided-missile destroyers and cruisers: USS Mitscher (DDG 57), USS Laboon (DDG 58), USS Mahan (DDG 72), USS Thomas Hudner (DDG 116), USS Monterey (CG 61), and USS Vella Gulf (CG 72).


Google Translation Disclaimer

Guidance-Card-Icon Dept-Exclusive-Card-Icon