Start & End Date

Navy Announces 2021 Captain Joy Bright Hancock and Master Chief Anna Der-Vartanian Leadership Awards

20 May 2022

From Chief of Naval Personnel public affairs

The Navy announced the selection of five outstanding Sailors from more than 98 nominees as the Captain Joy Bright Hancock and Master Chief Anna Der-Vartanian Leadership Award winners in NAVADMIN 118/22 on May 20, 2022.

“My heartiest congratulations to these deserving award winners and nominees," Vice Adm. John B. Nowell Jr. the chief of naval personnel said in the announcement.  "I would like to extend my gratitude for your visionary and inspirational leadership, which helps to shape our future and achieve the maximum possible performance of our Navy Team."

Established in 1987, and open to both men and women, these leadership awards are presented annually to honor the visionary leadership of Navy service members whose ideals and dedication foster an inclusive culture while furthering the integration of women into the Navy.

After a thorough review of the nominations, the 2021 awardees are as follows:

Captain Joy Bright Hancock Leadership Award:

Senior Officer:  Lt. Cmdr. Emily A. Curran, PCU John. F. Kennedy (CVN 79).

Junior Officer:  Christina A. Danai, USS Manchester (LCS 14) Gold.

LDO/CWO:  Lt. Natalia F. Luchetti, Special Projects Patrol Squadron TWO (VPU 2)

Master Chief Anna Der-Vartanian Leadership Award:

Senior Enlisted:  Chief Master at Arms (SW/AW/IW) Markeeta Y. Hardin, USS Carl Vinson (CVN 70)

Junior Enlisted:  Hospital Corpsman First Class (FMF) Brittany M. Robinson, Combat Logistics Regiment 27, 2D Marine Logistics Group.

Each application was graded on the criteria of inspirational and innovative leadership, professional accomplishments, character, command climate, and community involvement.  The award winners went above and beyond in every category, exhibiting extraordinary service:

Captain Joy Bright Hancock guided the Women Accepted for Volunteer Emergency Service (WAVES) through difficult years in the later 1940s and early 1950s, a period that saw the Navy's women achieve status as part of the Regular Navy. 

Master Chief Anna Der-Vartanian made history as the first female in the U.S. Armed Forces to be promoted to the rank of E-9. 

Both of these iconic women spent the majority of their lives acting as stewards for female integration in the Navy.

For more news from Chief of Naval Personnel - Navy Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion visit


Google Translation Disclaimer

Guidance-Card-Icon Dept-Exclusive-Card-Icon